

News Release

Texas Economic Development Council

For more information contact:

Mr. Carlton Schwab President/CEO Texas Economic Development Council (512) 480-8432 carlton@texasedc.org

For Release October 24, 2024

TEDC Honors Cities with Community Economic Development Awards

The Texas Economic Development Council (TEDC) has announced the recipients of its annual Community Economic Development Awards (CEDA) for 2024.

The awards will be presented at the Award Luncheon at the TEDC's 2024 Annual Conference on Thursday, October 24th, 2024, in Addison, Texas.

The Community Economic Development Award program recognizes exceptional contributions of TEDC member cities toward the economic vitality of their communities and the state of Texas through creativity, leadership, and partnership in the achievement of business retention, business recruitment and community improvement.

The CEDA committee received thirty-nine applications this year. Nominees were judged on five criteria: innovativeness, transferability, community commitment and leverage, measured objectives, and secondary benefits.

Communities nominated included: *Population Less than 10,000* – Kaufman and Rockdale. *Population 10,001 to 20,000* – Athens EDC, City of Athens, Borger, Canyon, Henderson, Kilgore, Nederland, Palestine, Red Oak, Robinson/McLennan County, Seagoville, Snyder, Sweetwater, Terrell and Tomball. *Population 20,001 to 50,000* – Kerrrville, Marshall, Paris, Sachse, Saginaw, Sherman and The Colony. *Population 50,001 to 100,000* – Burleson, Celina, Mission and Waller County. *Population 100,001 to 250,000* – Abilene, Allen, Brownsville, Greater Brownsville, Mesquite, Round Rock and Tyler. *Population 250,001 and Above* – El Paso, Cameron County, Laredo and San Antonio.

The 2024 CEDA recipients in population and criteria categories are:

Population Less than 10,000: Kaufman Economic Development Corporation Population 10,001 to 20,000: Kilgore Economic Development Corporation Population 20,001 to 50,000: Paris Economic Development Corporation

Population 50,001 to 100,000: Waller County

Population 100,001 to 250,000: Tyler Economic Development Council

Population 250,001 and Above: greater:SATX (San Antonio)

Innovativeness: Allen Economic Development Corporation

Transferability: City of Burleson

Community Commitment and

Leverage: Cameron County

Measured Objectives: City of Robinson and McLennan County

Secondary Benefits: City of Mesquite and

Round Rock Chamber of Commerce

"Our Community Economic Development Award is one of the ways in which our organization honors the excellent work done by our communities, their leaders, and their economic development professionals," noted Carlton Schwab, President & CEO, Texas Economic Development Council. "Each community nominated achieved excellence in economic development and substantially improved the economic base of their respective regions. The recipient communities in each population category were recognized for extraordinary accomplishments in meeting the criteria set forth in the nomination process."

The TEDC provides information, education and legislative services to its members to foster the expansion of existing businesses, the location of new firms and the development of strategies that promote a positive business climate in Texas. With roughly 1,100 members, the TEDC is the largest state economic development association in the nation.